Hello. Is it me you’re looking for?

 

IMG-20140407-WA0003
Yes, it’s true. I am this good looking.

Hello.

I am Tim and I am the newest Graduate Trainee to have joined the team at the Royal College of Nursing Library & Heritage Centre.

Under somewhat fortuitous circumstances, I have found myself stepping in to Kat’s shoes – who is still with us – and trying to navigate my way through the early days of my new job.

Unfortunately, I’m not very interesting but just a little bit about myself. I spent my University days studying English at the University of Lincoln, where I studied English over three years, graduating back in 2012. From there, I went through some dramatic career changes before finally ending up at RCN. I started my post-university life as a chef, where I quickly discovered I hate being chef. On a more positive note, I also learnt I’m quite good at providing customer service as I gained experience working with members of the public across the company.

From here, I decided to combine my newly found talent for customer service with my love for books and found myself working in a Sci-fi/Fantasy book and comic shop. During my time here, I brought my excellent customer service skills to new heights, setting a global (but unrecognised) example to all on how to perform such a role.  It was also around this time that I started to consider a career in librarianship. Having seen a few job listings with similar requirements to what my job already involved, I came to the conclusion I was on to something…

Jump forward a year and a half and I have now joined the RCN and despite being bombarded with a colossal amount of information, people and training, I’m happy to say I am already settling in and having a pleasant time.

Unfortunately, I don’t have too much exciting to write about just yet but even in this one week I’ve had a plethora of induction sessions and ample training to get me comfortable with my new job. Early highlights have included a trip to the London College of Fashion. It was interesting to see how another library nearby operates and what things they do better and worse than us (in my limited opinion, of course). Hopefully I’ll have a post about this trip ready in the not too distant future…

Other highlights included shadowing Rachel and Kat as they gave members of the London Museum a tour of the building and library. I had visited RCN and its lovely library exhibition areas previously but it was fascinating to learn about the history of the organisation and the building in more detail.

I think that is probably enough for now but do stay tuned in for more escapades featuring Tim and his Merry Band of Librarians (no one knows I’m calling them this yet).

One thought on “Hello. Is it me you’re looking for?

  1. Phil S April 26, 2016 / 8:40 am

    Welcome Tim! I’ve just tweeted this, btw 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

